I am a closet kikay.

One night, while I was undergoing my (sometimes) nightly rituals, I realized something. For a person that professes to be simple, basic and far from being kikay, I had a loooot of said stuff in my room. Hand lotions, moisturizers, bath soaps and salts, hair products, perfumes, oils, and makeup items are situated along my shelves and tabletops, not unlike soldiers waiting to be called into service. Another lightbulb moment: I hardly bought any of them.

kikay loot

It’s not a secret that I am crazy about pasalubongs. I love it. I ask for it, actually, (sometimes verging on the inappropriate). Whenever I hear/read online that a friend or acquaintance is traveling, it’s usually among the first (or last) thing that I’ll mention. Heaven forbid, I forget to remind my friend for my pasalubong.

And admit it, when you’re overseas or on a trip, and you’re thinking of getting something for a female friend/relative/co-worker, the easiest thing that comes to mind (and are relatively safe choices) are body products such as lotions and perfumes. It’s also the go-to gift for bridal showers, birthdays, anniversaries, christmas.. It’s clichéd because it works. I, for one, love getting these as gifts. And I think I’m not alone.  I am a sucker for all these, especially when they come in yummy scents! Personally, I generally go straight for citrusy/minty scents or green tea (never could go wrong with that). But because of gifts, I have been exposed to a variety of scents, textures and products that I might not have known.

So, in short, I would like to thank everyone (relatives, friends, neighbors, companies) that have contributed to my little stash of kikayness. and also.. to keep ’em coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

